How to play blues on piano

What is blue scale on piano?

A blues scale consists of 6 different notes, namely the root, flat 3rd, 4th, flat 5th, 5th and flat 7th of the major scale : 1 – b3 – 4 – b5 – 5 – b7. For instance, in the C blues scale the notes are C – Eb – F – Gb – G – Bb – C.

What is a riff in piano?

What is a piano riff ? It’s usually a short musical passage (though not always), often used in blues, jazz or rock music styles. It is often used as a flourish, or as a notable ‘hook’, as a memorable part of the music.

What is it called when you slide down a piano?

In music, a glissando (Italian: [ɡlisˈsando]; plural: glissandi, abbreviated gliss.) is a glide from one pitch to another ( Play (help·info)). It is an Italianized musical term derived from the French glisser, “to glide”.

Is Blues Scale major or minor?

A blues scale is a six note scale based on the major or minor pentatonic with added chromatic “blue” notes. The blue notes are ♯ 4/♭5 in the minor blues scale and ♭3 in the major blues scale .

What is the difference between pentatonic and blues scale?

The blues scale is a 6 note scale that comes from the minor pentatonic scale . The reason the blues scale is different from other scales is that the note that’s added to the minor pentatonic scale to create the blues scale does not naturally occur in the key it’s being played in.

You might be interested:  How to play clair de lune on piano

What is the formula for a blues scale?

The blues scale is esentially a minor pentatonic scale with an added flat fifth. The blues scale formula is 1, b3, 4, b5, 5, b7. The easiest way to remember this scale is to think of it as the minor pentatonic and simply learn where the added notes are within the normal five minor pentatonic positions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *